Omaha's Original Steak House
Johnny's Café opened in 1922 as a small eight-seat saloon located next to the Omaha Stockyards. Founder, Frank Kawa, expanded the menu and footprint as the Stockyards and surrounding South Omaha community continued to grow.
Jack & Tom Kawa, Frank’s sons, took ownership of the restaurant in the early 1960’s. At that time Johnny’s was open for breakfast, lunch and dinner catering to the Stockyard clientele and Omaha locals. In the 1970’s Johnny’s underwent a major transformation two years in the making. The renovation included installing the world-famous brass steer horn front doors and improving the iconic dining room mural.
In the 1990's Jack's daughters, Kari and Sally assumed day-to-day operations as the third generation to own and operate Johnny's Café. Together they continued to preserve the nostalgic history as they moved into their 100th year of operation. Now, as we enter our 101st year as an Omaha favorite, we welcome you back to experience what the legend of Omaha’s original Steakhouse is all about.